Forum Discussion

paulmedynski
New Contributor
11 days ago
Solved

Review Subscriptions & Role Changes

Hi,

I'm using a hosted Collaborator instance v13.12.131204.  I have subscribed to reviews for certain authors as an Observer.  However, if they want me to be a Reviewer, they cannot change my role from Observer.  I read this FAQ entry:

When participant is subscribed as Observer for review author then author cannot change role of the participant to Reviewer. | SmartBear Software

But I can't find a "review subscription mode" any where in the settings (I am an admin).

Is there a way to allow role changes for participants who are also subscribed?

Thanks,

-Paul

• I believe what you're saying is that a subscriber cannot override their subscribed role.  Oof!

For example, it isn't possible for User B to be subscribed as an Observer on Author A's reviews except for one particular review by Author A where User B wants to be a Reviewer.

I can see a couple of workarounds:

• Change the subscription role to Reviewer while performing the desired review, and then change it back to Observer.
    • Delete the subscription while performing the review as a Reviewer, and then re-create it once the review completes.

2 Replies

• I believe what you're saying is that a subscriber cannot override their subscribed role.  Oof!

For example, it isn't possible for User B to be subscribed as an Observer on Author A's reviews except for one particular review by Author A where User B wants to be a Reviewer.

I can see a couple of workarounds:

• Change the subscription role to Reviewer while performing the desired review, and then change it back to Observer.
    • Delete the subscription while performing the review as a Reviewer, and then re-create it once the review completes.